Re: Уважаемый gorm!

Автор сообщения: mv
Дата и время сообщения: 22 June 2005 at 00:32:05:

В ответ на сообщение: Re: Уважаемый gorm!

It is interesting. Could you be more specific?

Will I get the credit for the correction? OK...,

Quoting from your lexiline page:

7 And the first beast was like a lion,
and the second beast like a
calf, and the third beast had a
face as a man, and the fourth
beast was like a flying eagle.
-Sagittarius, (usually drawn as Centaur)
-Pegasus (in Greek text mammal like an eagle)

First two are correct, third is questionable, the last one is wrong. To start with, the Greek Mammal argument is a bad stretch, perhaps coming from a dictionary knowledge of a language. More importantly, Pegasus is not a Zodiacal constellation at all:

whereas the other three are, so it does not fit with the rest. There is a much better candidate, and if Morozov was better versed in astrology, he would have used the Eagle, rather than his sick Eagle-like mammal... As it happens, at one point Eagle denoted the same constellation as Scorpio -- at least in the Byzantine system -- and the residual of it can still be seen on modern Tarot cards!

See more here

Now, the identification of Sagittarius is based on a very weak evidence: "face like a man" and a number of other constellations can be described this way.

Aquarius is almost certainly the one intended.

The Byzantine page I linked above affiliates Leo, Taurus, Scorpio/Eagle and Aquarius with the Evangelists as

Christian tradition links the four Evangelists (the supposed authors of the Gospels) with four symbols: Matthew with a Man or Cherub, Mark with a Lion, Luke with a Bull and John with an Eagle. These symbols are derived from Ezekiel's famous vision in which he saw four creatures, each with four faces. The creatures' faces are described in Ezekiel 1:10:

Their faces looked like this: Each of the four had the face of a man, and on the right side each had the face of a lion, and on the left the face of an ox; each also had the face of an eagle.

but there is something even more basic involved here: the four constellation now define the division of the sky into the four seasons==the basic architecture of the sky, which of course pre-dates the evangelists or christianity. And this fits nicely with the next verse by John:

8 And the four beasts had each of
them six wings about him; and they
were full of eyes within: and they
rest not day and night, saying,
Holy, holy, holy, Lord God Almighty,
which was, and is, and is to come

Not just four beasts, but four equidistant beasts, to divide the sky fairly!

2067. Радиоуглеродное датирование. Алгоритм фальсификации. - АнТюр 05:38 20.06.05 (75)
К списку тем на странице